NCTS Race #09 and Series Wrap-up

The Runner’s Flat trail races over the weekend in Cedar Falls ushered in the finish to another incredible year of running trails on the No Coast! Wet conditions made for a challenging but fun day for runners as they took on 10k, 25k or 50k distances!
Congrats to all finishers and special kudos to No Coast participants Phil Young​ for taking 1st overall in the 50k as well as Emily Eisenman for successfully tackling her first ultra marathon!


2017 marked the 4th year of the No Coast Trail Series and with it, another incredible year of running trails all over the state of Iowa! Seeing this wonderful community of races, runners, organizers and volunteers continue to grow and evolve into what it is today, has been a rich and rewarding experience. THANK YOU!

This year saw the series comprised of 9 independent top quality trail running events offering 22 different distances with 44 hardy No Coast runners racing at least 3 events throughout the year and being eligible for division awards!
INCREDIBLE job everyone and congratulations to all division winners!

Some special shout outs:
-Tim Bergan, Denise Whiting, Steve Hagarty and Troy Brehm for running ALL NINE races this year and to add to that, Tim ran the LONGEST distance available at every event! Holy smokes Tim, that’s 259 miles of No Coast trail racing!
-To all the repeat participants and division winners over the years including Dean Schwickerath for taking 1st in the Masters Trail division for the third year in a row and Ross Salinas for placing at the top of the series all four years including 3rd in the Open Ultra division this year!
-And to all the folks new to the series this year! Some of those taking on their longest trail runs ever this year like Tom Naert who not only ran his first 100 miler at Booneville this year but won it in the second fastest time ever and earned 1st in his NCTS division!

Attention all division award winners! I’ll be in contact via email to make arrangements to get you your NCTS Hydro Flask division trophy!

Thank you!
Full 2017 NCTS Standings:

Division Award Winners!

#1 Overall Trail – Male – Troy Brehm
#1 Overall Trail – Female – Cathy Steines

#1 Overall Ultra – Male – Tim Bergan
#1 Overall Ultra – Female – Denise Whiting

Open Trail – Male
1st – Jason Willits
2nd – Jacob Waddingham
3rd – David Kline

Open Trail – Female
1st – Amber Sheeley
2nd – Margaret Haywood
3rd – Kelly Teeselink

Masters Trail – Male
1st – Dean Schwickerath
2nd – Mike Nyman

Masters Trail – Female
1st – Debby Hildebrand
2nd – Darcy Sanford
3rd – Kelly Jensen

Open Ultra – Male
1st – Tom Naert
2nd – Jeff Moeur
3rd – Ross Salinas

Open Ultra – Female
1st – Emily Eisenman
2nd – Leah Schneider

Masters Ultra – Male
1st – Steve Hagarty
2nd – Paul Wiederholt
3rd – Kim Wander

Masters Ultra – Female
1st – Michelle Steele

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s